Department of Botany and the three year degree course in Botany Started in the year 1967 with the strength of 35 students. Departmental activities started with the leadership of Prof. K. V. Varghese, deputed from  St. Thomas College Pala. Sr. Annie Tresa, Smt.Thresiamma Cherian and Sr. Lillyamma Mathew were the pioneering faculties of the department.